Logo

Reviews

A Guest rated their experience as Great 20 days ago

As usual,(we have stayed here a few times) absolutely no complaints.Great facilities,cottage well looked after and accommodating.Pub across the road,short walk into center of Keswick.Would highly recommend to anyone

A Guest rated their experience as Great 23 days ago

We are frequent return visitors previously staying at Lydia's cottage which we love. Although this Christmas we decided to try Riverside Cottage because it has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms as we had family accompany us for the festive holiday. We were not disappointed, Riverside was kept to the same high standard that we have always enjoyed at Lydia's Cottage and the additional bathroom came in handy. Both cottages offer off road parking and are located side by side and overlook a river, with wooded bank on the far side providing privacy and the calming sound of run water., accompanied by the sound of an owl at night and a chorus of woodpeckers during the day. The cottages are well located on the outskirts of Keswick, with that rural feel, but are within an easy 10-15 minute walk into the town center, which has a good selection of pubs, restaurants, bespoke and retail shops. There are pleasant walks of varying degree's depending on your needs, but highly recommend the walk around Derwentwater which starts at the town center. Stunning views from the lakeside and hilltops. We have no hesitation in recommending both cottages, whether you just want a cozy hideaway to relax or use as a base to explore some of England's finest scenery. The owners Michael & Daphne are terrific and they take allot of pride in both cottages, which is evident when you arrive. Cannot wait to book up the next adventure at either Riverside or Lydia's, we love them both. Joe & Annette Hornchurch, Essex.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 26 days ago

Back for our second Christmas at Lydia’s Cottage and once again we were not disappointed. Ideal location for a short walk into Keswick. The facilities in the cottage are second to none. One double, one twin bedroom. Bathroom has an amazing shower. Downstairs is open plan very comfortable lounge, dining and fully equipped kitchen. Central heating throughout. Beautifully located outside area with the River Greta alongside. Perfect place to chill out. Would definitely recommend. The welcome Lemon Drizzle cake …… beautiful.! Thank you once again to Daphne and Michael. Best Wishes for 2023.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 1 month ago

Lovely cosy cottage. Lots of wildlife on the river (Dippers, Kingfisher, Goosander, Grey Heron and Grey Wagtails). Very christmasy with the tree and other decorations.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 2 months ago

Once again we had a fantastic stay at Riverside cottage. It's such a lovely place and ideally situated for loads of walks without having to get in your car!!

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 2 months ago

Second time staying here. It is very comfortable, warm. All you need in the kitchen for your self catering holiday. The cottage was very clean. Lemon drizzle cake was lovely. Look forward to a return holiday here. Would recommend to friends and family. Excellent.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 2 months ago

It’s wonderful. Feels like coming home! Looking forward to booking again next year!

A Guest rated their experience as Great 2 months ago

Had a lovely week at Lydia's river cottage. Lovely peaceful surroundings only 10 mins walk from Keswick. Lemon cake was really nice.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 3 months ago

Hello Daphne and Michael, thank you so much for our stay last week. We had a wonderful time and are so pleased to have discovered your lovely cottage. We hope to return again soon! All the best, Peter, Angela and Emma Simpson

A Guest rated their experience as Great 3 months ago

Wonderful cottage, very warm and spotless, enjoyed the river view from every window. Great off road parking and walking distance to town centre, thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 3 months ago

The cottage was wonderful, well maintained perfect for all our needs. Would thoroughly recommend.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 3 months ago

We have stayed at Riverside Cottage several times. The cottage is always lovely and clean and very well equipped. The double bed is very comfortable. The kitchen well equipped with washing machine and dishwasher and access to tumble dryer should you need it. The views from the patio area is stunning. Also parking for two cars. We love it.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 3 months ago

Lydia's River Cottage was well equipped and comfortable. The gas flame effect burner was appreciated after spending the prevous week, in another cottage, stoking up and cleaning a real log burner. The Twa Dogs opposite provided good, cheap drinks and food. We would certainly return to this cottage if returning to this area of the Lake District !

A Guest rated their experience as Great 4 months ago

The cottage is just like home from home we have stayed a few times and have never been disappointed.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 4 months ago

As always we enjoyed our stay at Lydia's, even thought the weather as in control. Comfortable, cosy & snug it is the same as next door at Riverside., a standard is kept high. We do believe that we have been 3 times this year and our booking at the cottages over 18 years speaks for itself. Situated as it is being very handy for a stroll into Keswick( no car parking fees) and situated in perfect peaceful surroundings with pleasant local walks especially the re opened railway track, We will be back thank you.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 4 months ago

What a cosy cottage

A Guest rated their experience as Great 4 months ago

This was our third time at Riverside Cottage and we love staying there! We have always found the cottage to be spotlessly clean, well equipped and extremely homely. It is a great base for local walks in and around Keswick, and for exploring the mountains, as lakes and coastline of north Cumbria. Backing on to the river Greta, we were able to watch a great variety of wildlife as we drunk our morning coffee, including, on our recent visit, 2 Dippers, 7 Goosanders, and a pair of Grey Wagtails! We would have now hesitation in recommending the cottage to others, and look forward to our next visit! Thank you, Daphne and Michael for providing such excellent accommodation!

A Guest rated their experience as Great 4 months ago

Stayed at Lydia's cottage many times which is equipped with everything you could wish for. On site parking is such a bonus in Keswick, and Keswick itself is only a 10 minute walk along the old railway line. Beautiful home from home, already booked another stay.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

Another lovely stay at the beautiful Riverside Cottage.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

We really enjoyed staying at Lydia’s Cottage which we found very clean and had everything we needed for a self-catering holiday in Keswick!

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

This was a great holiday. Lydia's Cottage was just beautiful with a particularly wonderful shower, which was very welcome after a long day in the hills. It was in a great location and the river gave us an extra dimension and our children adored the wildlife they spotted, which included an otter and several sightings of kingfishers. Thank you for a super holiday.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

Hi Had a lovely time cottage beautiful best one we stayed in for a very long while . Everything top quality Like going from home to home. Weather was good made everything even better. Definitely be coming back Thank You Sue and Kev

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

everything up to the usual high standards. Lovely cottage, Riverside views,easy strole into town. And a nice lemon drizzle cake waiting for us.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

Thank you for a great stay, as always. Well equipped cottage, great location and the parking is an added bonus!

A Guest rated their experience as Great 5 months ago

Loved staying at Riverside Cottage. Great accommodation in a great location.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 6 months ago

Lovely stay at Riverside Cottage. Great location, ideal for Walking into Keswick. and visiting surrounding area.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 6 months ago

We had a lovely week at Lydia's River Cottage, really appreciated the comfortable and supportive beds, great shower, quality furnishings and lots of attention to detail which made it feel like a home from home. Beautiful setting next to the river. We found a path directly across the road which took us up onto the railway path into Keswick - a lovely 10-15 minute tree-lined and traffic-free walk into the town centre. Highly recommended, we would definitely return.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 6 months ago

Such a wonderful stay at Riverside cottage. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. We made good use of the binoculars and bird book each day. It was a treat to eat breakfast on the patio while watching the herons, ducks and mergansers. The location was perfect . Within easy reach of Keswick town centre as well as convenient for exploring the Lake District.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 7 months ago

This was a lovely cottage looking over the river. We spotted a heron and several kingfishers. It was truly a home from home, clean and supplied with everything you could need. I especially liked the small clocks on the bedside tables. The cottage was in walking distance of Keswick and we only used the car once during our stay. The beds were comfortable and firm. The parking at the front was really convenient and we used the Sapr shop which is just across the road, very handy. We would definitely return.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 7 months ago

The cottage is located just outside Keswick being a short walk in it has parking for 2 cars which is ideal for 5 people staying at the cottage The cottage is very clean and tidy and we always get a lovely cake given to have your cup of tea with when you get there Two bathrooms mean it’s ideal for 5 Overall a great cottage to stay out and enjoy Keswick from

A Guest rated their experience as Great 7 months ago

Fabulous place to stay with amazing views, ideally situated for getting out and about, easy walking into centre what more could anyone ask.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 8 months ago

This was our first stay at Lydia’s cottage but we have stayed next door at riverside quite a few times. Both are just lovely. Lydia’s cottage has everything you would need for your stay and I was torn between exploring the northern lakes or just sitting on the patio at the back of the cottage just watching the beautiful river flow past. I have stayed at many properties in the lakes over the years and these 2 are our go to as a family. I can’t recommend both Lydia’s and riverside cottage enough. Lovely houses, great location and beautiful scenery. What’s not to love.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 8 months ago

We have stayed at Lydia's River cottage many times it is always clean and welcoming there is everything you will need .there is a pup over the road .also a Garage that sells most things you need. Keswick centre is only about 15 minutes walk with lots of nice places to eat .the market is on Thursday and Saturday. There is also bus stops just outside the cottage so very convenient. A round lovely cottage

A Guest rated their experience as Great 9 months ago

A lovely cottage, ideally located within a 10 min walk of the centre of Keswick and with it’s own parking which is at a premium with the town. The cottage was beautifully presented and there was nothing that we wanted that was not provided. A great patio at the back overlooking the river Greta provided some interesting watching of a Heron fishing for tea.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 9 months ago

We only come for the lemon drizzle cake, of course. The lovely cottage and beautiful surroundings are just an added bonus. Have already booked for next year.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 9 months ago

Lovely stay at Riverside Cottage thank you. Lovely home environment, super river views, local to Keswick and great walks. Lemon cake mud a lovely touch too.

A Guest rated their experience as Great 9 months ago

Accommodation was excellent . 15 minute walk into Keswick. Good selection of shops.... and the area & scenery can't be faulted. Bring your own weather .

A Guest rated their experience as Great 10 months ago

Used this cottage several times. Ideally placed for great walks in the Lakes. A lovely space benefiting from off road parking. Steve

A Guest rated their experience as Great almost 5 years ago

Lovely clean cottage in a wonderful position a ten minute walk from all the amenities in Keswick. All mod cons including smart tv which is nice at the end of the day. Highly recommended. We will certainly return.

A Guest rated their experience as Great almost 5 years ago

We have stayed at Riverside nine times and it remains firmly our number one choice,it is ìn an excellent location with good parking,it is well equiped and eveything is of good quality.We have stopped at many holiday properties up and down the country but Riverside is the one we judge all others by,this reflects the care and attention given by the owners we could happily live here without altering a single thing.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Lovely, well equipped, great location holiday cottage, owners very helpful from moment we booked. would highly recommend and will definitely stay again.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

This was our second stay at Riverside and we were very glad we decided to return. Having such a fantastic view of the river and yet be within easy walking distance of all the facilities in the town is a boon, but we found it so easy to relax in the cottage after our sometimes wet and windy walks in the hills.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

There over Christmas and was very happy to find a Christmas tree and some decorations. Just typical of the thoughtful way that Daphne and Michael have set the cottage up for their guests

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Everything was simply perfect. Very cosy with all mod cons! The biggest shower I have seen is wonderful. Would thoroughly recommend.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Lydia's cottages was very comfortable and well equipped. Very cosy with the coal effect fire.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

After annually visiting Riverside cottage for over a decade, we have found our " second" home, comfortable with everything in place to make a brilliant holiday/ break. ~The owners are amenable, friendly & put their guests first, a perfect cottage set in a perfect surrounding, thanks as always.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd time at Lydia's Cottage. All our needs were catered for and Keswick has been a place we have been coming back to for years now. We will definitely book the Cottage again as the location is lovely.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Very nice and cozy cottage everything you could want could benefit from a footstool to rest weary legs after a days walking otherwise quite idyllic would go back again.

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Really excellent accommodation, in good position, bus stops by the door, lovely patio to sit and watch river rushing by. Decent pub meals opposite in Twa Dogs, good meals Casa Bella and The George. Super walking, service buses are good. Honister Rambler bus (until end October) first class, other valley buses well worth using, saves looking for parking space. Plenty of walking round cottage, high and low, long or short. Riverside cottage has it all!

A Guest rated their experience as Great about 5 years ago

Riverside cottage is in a great location overlooking the river. We have visited the cottage numerous times over the last eight years and have always found it to be very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The new gas fire makes the lounge very cosy on a cold evening after a walk. I will certainly return in the future.

A Guest rated their experience as Great over 5 years ago

enjoyed our stay in Lydia's river cottage 30th September/7th October,2017. Stayed twice before the damaging floods. Impressed with the alterations you have done since the floods. Kind regards Maureen, Harold & David Harrison.

A Guest rated their experience as Great over 5 years ago

Had a lovely week cottage is spot on every thing you would need .nice for walks into Keswick only about 20 mins away also pub over the road serving food there is also a garage selling food if you want to cook at the cottage and booths in Keswick has everything. We were very pleased with the cottage it's one of the best we have stayed in thanks Annette and Mike

A Guest rated their experience as Great over 5 years ago

Another top class holiday in this delightful cottage!

A Guest rated their experience as Great over 5 years ago

Cottage was clean, cosy and well furnished. Little surprised there was no liquid soap for kitchen and bathroom. The cake was lovely and a nice touch. A great cottage in a super location with off road parking, I think the owners have got it just right. Will definitely be looking to return. Thanks Steve B.

A Guest rated their experience as Great over 5 years ago

This is the perfect base for exploring this part of the Lakes and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Not only was the cottage spotlessly clean and incredibly comfortable, the hosts had gone the extra mile with a welcoming homemade lemon cake, pint of milk and tea bags. Just what you want after a long drive! The riverside setting is gorgeous too, offering endlessly fascinating views whatever the weather. Highly recommended!

Read More Reviews